How To Change Your Own Tyres

gsxr renegade

I've just changed the rear tyre on my bike so i thought i'd pop up a little guide as to how i do it, in case anyone else wanted to give it a go, or was just interested in how to do it.

DISCLAIMER: I'm not a mechanic by any means of the imagination, I've been changing my own tyres for the past 5 years or so and learnt my own technique for it. The first time i tried it it took me about 3 hours to do, but I can do both wheels in about an hour now, from getting the bike up on stands, to taking it down again.

This is just meant to be a little guide as to how I do it, not a 'best practice' workshop guide, or the only way to do it - there are several methods and techniques, as i say, this is just how I do it. If you're not that confident with your own tools, get a pro to sort your tyres for you. Don't fuck about with them if you're not confident.

Now that's out of the way, let's begin..

You won't need loads of tools to do it, i use these;

20AD5ACB-1880-495B-87CF-67683FF27052_zps

4 rim protectors - the long cable ties make it easier to keep hold of the thing when you're moving them about the rim.

3 tyre levers (2 long, 1 short)

5 kilo tub of tyre soap

Since, in the summer, i can be popping a set of tyres on every month, i've just bought one of these bead breakers from eBay;

EA3B4204-B0F5-461B-BC05-A8AE8F011D08_zps

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Mechanics-Workshop-Garage-Motorcycle-Tyre-Bead-Breaker-Motorbike-Tyre-Changer-/301089085300?pt=UK_Motorcycle_Parts&hash=item461a4ed774

to make the job of breaking the bead effortless. Before this, i used 3 heavy duty trigger clamps from B&Q to 'pinch' the tyre together and break the bead.