R1 monoblock calipers with Brembo M/C

Zakalwe

OK, so here's the plan.

I have picked up a set of 07 R1 monoblock calipers (silver spots) and intend mating them up to my '04 Fireblade. First thing I need are longer bolts to suit (the Yam calipers are much deeper than the Tokicos on the 'blade). Anyone know a good source for these bolts?

Secondly, I have a 19x20 Brembo master cylinder on at the moment. I have heard that the M/C bore size is too big for the Yam calipers (the Yam has a 16mm bore size I think)? Has anyone any experience of this setup?

Thanks in advance for any help offered :icon_blackeye:

I've got a Nissin 19 x 21 radial MC on an R1 with blue spot calipers. It works fine. :o

Foo, would that happen to be a radial m/c from a later model R1? have you got one on your R1, did it make much difference?

cheers

Jim

Foo, would that happen to be a radial m/c from a later model R1? have you got one on your R1, did it make much difference?

It's not from an R1. It's an OEM Nissin part I bought from Omnia Racing in Italy. It is on my R1, and the brakes are better --less lever effort and firmer braking. You do lose sensitivity though, so the brakes feel a bit "dead" compared to the original. I'm happy with that trade-off.

It's easy to fit, but a bit of a sod to position with the standard clip-ons as it's bigger than the original unit. If you get it so it doesn't foul the screen, it obscures part of the rev counter. Again, I've not found that matters, as I don't look at the rev counter very much.

The other one to consider if you don't necessarily want to pay for a badge is a Performance Technology MC. I was after one of those originally, but the only people who seem to do them here are Moto 46, and I didn't fancy buying from them. However, Mr Tootall is a PTI dealer, and surely would do you a good price on one.

How are you getting on with that slipper clutch you fitted? Do you find it makes much difference?

OK, so here's the plan.