Oil

Hendo

Ive posted this up on the KTM forum aswell but Im asking you lot aswell as Im only expecting a load of numpty answers on there (if any)...

Im going to do some home servicing on my bike.

According to my bikes manual, my bike should have 10w/50 fully synthetic.

I rang Triple D KTM who service my bike and they said they always put in 10w/40 semi synthetic.

I need to buy some oil for it, so which one do I choose? Its done 11,000miles and the oil gets changed approx every 2500miles.

Im thinking of just sticking 10w/40 in as thats what Ive used in my other bikes in the past (and its cheaper).

Cheers guys

Andy

I always use cheap stuff of the right grade according to the manual (20/50 for the BM) and change both oil and filter bang on the quoted mileage (12k).

I'm no expert, but the most critical time for en engines oil to be working properly is when it's cold, and that the 10w part fo your multigrade spec, so both of your oils should be within similar standards at that part of the scale. The 50 or 40 bit is how thick they remain at the hotter end of their scale, once your engine's warmed up and you're getting a wriggle on. I honestly don't know which'd be better for your bike under these circumstances, and in big singles oil tends to be given a hard time too, so i'll leave that bit of the answer for somebody who knows.

It's not worth the bother, bang in the right spec in. If KTM thought 10/40 was alright, they would spec that. They will appreciate the inconvenience of stocking another grade.

The fact your dealer puts the wrong grade in says more about the dealer than anything.

Edit to add -why is cold more critical? Engine damage can occur at any temperature with the wrong products in it.

Cheers guys. I guess Im going to have to fork out for the more expensive stuff from now on.

The fact your dealer puts the wrong grade in says more about the dealer than anything.