Fireblade flatspot

nobeard

I've a 97 Blade, which I believe is fitted with a Dynojet kit (Don't know which stage, I haven't opened up the carbs, plus I have zero experience of carb tuning - never seen the point, I've always left them standard).

The bike runs standard downpipes and silencer.

Symptoms:

Can't quote the exact rev range but there is a flatspot at roughly 5-6K.  Doesn't do it all the time.  Feels like it does it with wider throttle openings and/or in higher gears.  It's not horrendous, I'd just like to minimise it if possible.

So if you pull away in 1st, take it past 6K and change into 2nd, no flatspot, if you are going along in 2nd (or higher) and give it a wider throttle opening, it has a real 'pause' at 5-6K.  No misfire, no spluttering just a pause, gets through the 6k mark and then fires off.  Plus it absolutely flys along/sings when up in the rev range.

In every other respect it runs like a brand new bike - the fuelling is A1 - starting, idling, running along nicely at say 4k, smooth as you like all day.  I previously had the same model with double this mileage (this is 15.5K) and no flatspot, so I'm initially putting it down to the Dynojet, not a characteristic of the model.

Whilst I've not had the tank off, it's had plugs in the last 12 months and the whole bike is phenomenally clean - including what I can see inside the tank.  It's not old fuel or anything - I've done 450 miles on it in the last 2 weeks.  Plus I think any crap in the system would most likely manifest itself at idle.

Nothing I've seen indicates it's running massively rich - no soot in the tailpipe etc.  Doesn't smell either when you park it up hot.

Question is, to try and resolve it:

Is it possible that the main jets that are too big?

Or do the needles need moving slightly?   If so, moving them just one notch initially, would I raise the needle upwards in the diaphragm body or move them downwards?