3D Printing

couchcommando

Having read lots on here about a few who have and use the 3D printers I thought it was time to jump in and get one !

I have no design knowledge, no CAD knowledge but I did run a small sign writing business as a side line..this isn't really a help I'm finding :)

I read El gringo's thread and bought the same printer he is using https://www.box.co.uk/Creality-Ender-3-3D-Printer_2324683.html

I messaged Mr Gringo and got the low down on software, 3D design is done in skecthup and exported to CURA for conversion to a 3D printer file.

So with machine ordered and software downloaded I opened a file the ever helpful El had sent and thought I'll go to work......a few minutes of staring at the screen told me all I need to know I haven't a clue with design software so I looked for tutorials and came across these

https://www.youtube.com/user/SketchUpEssentials?pbjreload=10

Very very helpful and an hour later I'd learnt the very basics. Enough to draw this,

cup1

It may not look like much but it's better than where I was an hour ago. The next step is to take it from sketchup to CURA and make it a file the printer will understand. The printer gets delivered tomorrow so hopefully I can have something running by the end of the day.

Be great if anyone doing this properly can join in and give any advice or tips :)

• Like 5

Cad is something that you will take a while to learn. A,fter  a while, you will work out the system you are using, and altthough you may not use it at it's full capacity you will work out what works for you.

Put rads in corners wherever possible so you do not create stress raisers (points that will cause your creation to crack) Make things look nice, not just functional. Spend time working on the cad data to make things that work well, are strong enough but are aesthetically pleasing.

If in doubt, over engineer something. Make it bigger and thicker so it does not fail in it's application.