Changing Fork Springs/Oil

Weasel

Admission 1: I'm skint

Admission 2: I'm an ethusiastic amateur mechanic with zero training

Admission 3: I have a habit of starting jobs on the bike without researching the difficulty level.

Q. Is changing the fork springs and oil a tricky job? I have a 2003 VFR Vtec and I've removed the forks before but have never "opened them up". I'm looking to firm up the front end and I can't really afford the labour costs a garage would charge me. The manual makes it sound quite easy but then again maybe that's my optimistic nature.

So then.......Should I give it a pop? I don't have any other transport so I can't afford to have the bike off the road for more than 2 days.

Help !

Admission 3: I have a habit of starting jobs on the bike without researching the difficulty level.

Q. Is changing the fork springs and oil a tricky job? I have a 2003 VFR Vtec and I've removed the forks before but have never "opened them up". I'm looking to firm up the front end and I can't really afford the labour costs a garage would charge me. The manual makes it sound quite easy but then again maybe that's my optimistic nature.

So then.......Should I give it a pop? I don't have any other transport so I can't afford to have the bike off the road for more than 2 days.

Help !

piece of piss mate, but if you re not sure take the forks to a mechanic, it's an easy job but the potential to cock up is ever real.

best of luck

Mark

Help !

Changing the springs should be a piece of piss. Caps off, springs out, new springs in. 10 minutes tops. It was on my old Bandit 60 anyway.