Power commander help...

burntout

Installed the PCIII back into the R1 I just bought expecting it to run real sweet with the map he had installed and set up, not the case. Really rough idling and stalled on me once on a test ride, so I figured I'd check the map is correct.

"I'm a moto GP mechanic" I thought as I connected the PCIII to the lap top. I had everything prepared, fag rolled, two tins of stella, laptop and software....sorted right?

Turns out the 03 R1 doesn't supply power to the unit with the engine off and I dont have the 9v power adapter. So I started her up with the power commander connected and it came up with a nice display showing revs and throttle position but it also say "no map" at the bottom.

Whaaa?! Where's the frikkin map?

I'm new to Power commanders (as my RSV ran two fuelling maps on the ECU as standard and was carbed before that - R6, NC35, KR1S) so would appreciate some help here.

He has given me the custom map but it's on a fucking floppy disc. A floppy fucking disc of all things - I dont own a floppy drive. Sure, a floppy dick, but not a floppy drive.

So....I've downloaded a load of maps from the website but how do I get the required one on to the bike without the power adapter?

Is anyone out there able to lend me the adapter for a week so I can get it sorted before the dyno run on Friday? It's tricky to ride when it keeps stalling.

Appreciate any help on this one guys - so share your wealth of knowledge and then lets get a detailed article in the next PB please!!!

Right, I think I just transferred a new map to the bike but still she idles rough.

When I hit "get map" with the engine running it came up with "stock bike, filter" etc, so I guess it would have been plenty lean, but still, with the "new map" the idle aint right.

the PC website have two suitable maps - one saying "European model with Akro can" and the other just "akro can" etc so may try the latter instead.

Ran lovely before switching pipe and PC.